Welcome to Congregation Shaarei Tefillah!
We are a Modern Orthodox synagogue located in beautiful Newton Centre, Massachusetts, in the greater Boston area.
Our small, energetic shul aspires to provide an inclusive, friendly, and participatory atmosphere conducive to personal growth through tefillah, tzedakah, Torah study, serious religious expression, and building a supportive community of values and meaning.
As our Sages taught us so long ago: The world stands on three things: Torah, Avodah, Ug'milut Chasadim. At Shaarei, we too stand on — and just as importantly, we stand for — these three foundational pillars.
— Rabbi Benjamin Samuels

In January of 2014, the Orthodox Union recognized our synagogue as a Hineinu Synagogue, an exemplary national model of communal inclusivity. Our Shul’s inclusivity statement follows:
We are excited to partner with the Hineinu initiative of the Orthodox Union. At Shaarei Tefillah, we pride ourselves on our warm, welcoming Modern Orthodox community. However, we have learned over the years that creating an inclusive environment requires more than good will. A sincere call for inclusivity must be conveyed not only with greetings and invitations, but must be expressed through architecture and access, signage, wordage and programs. The strength of kehillah (community) should be measured not only in membership units and the length of weekly announcements, but also by our manifest inclusivity and our capacity as a halakhic community to learn and improve, to outreach and in-reach, to grow together through full encounter of Torah uMitzvot. When we built our new Shul building just a couple of years ago, a vision of inclusivity drove our process. We designed our Shul to communicate through structure and form that our Beit Kenesset, our home of spiritual ingathering, invites and values the participation of men and women, adults and children, abled and disabled, empty nesters and young families, frum-from-birth and newly religious seekers. We work hard to concretize this message through our programming and publicity as well. Joining the Hineinu initiative is our way of continuing to respond to this Divine call and charge of hakhel, of inclusivity. We sincerely hope that by stepping up to say “Here We Are,” we will inspire other Shuls to do likewise and invite those who have previously felt without community to join us with their own “Hineini — Here I am.”


Week of Parashat Bemidbar
May 17 - May 23
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
OmerShkia
Sun May 17
Yom Yerushalayim
8:007:50438:01:14
Mon May 18 6:307:50448:02:14
Tue May 19
Rosh Chodesh Sivan
6:157:50458:03:14
Wed May 20 6:407:50468:04:13
Thu May 21 6:307:50478:05:11
Fri May 22 6:407:00488:06:09
Candle lighting before 7:48
Sat May 23
Bemidbar
8:00
9:00
7:40498:07:06
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 8:59
Candle lighting after 8:50
Yaknehaz

Week of Parashat Naso
May 24 - May 30
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun May 24
Shavuot
4:55
8:00
9:00
7:558:08:01
Candle lighting after 8:51
Mon May 25
Shavuot
Yizkor
8:00
9:00
7:558:08:56
Havdalah after 8:51
Tue May 26 6:407:558:09:50
Wed May 27 6:407:558:10:43
Thu May 28 6:307:558:11:34
Fri May 29 6:407:008:12:25
Candle lighting before 7:54
Sat May 30
Naso
8:00
9:00
7:458:13:14
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 8:57
Havdalah after 8:56

Week of Parashat Behaalot'kha
May 31 - Jun 6
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun May 31 8:008:008:14:03
Mon Jun 1 6:308:008:14:49
Tue Jun 2 6:408:008:15:35
Wed Jun 3 6:408:008:16:19
Thu Jun 4 6:308:008:17:02
Fri Jun 5 6:407:008:17:44
Candle lighting before 7:59
Sat Jun 6
Behaalot'kha
8:00
9:00
7:508:18:24
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 8:56
Havdalah after 9:01

Week of Parashat Shelach L'cha
Jun 7 - Jun 13
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jun 7 8:008:058:19:02
Mon Jun 8 6:308:058:19:39
Tue Jun 9 6:408:058:20:15
Wed Jun 10 6:408:058:20:48
Thu Jun 11 6:308:058:21:21
Fri Jun 12 6:407:008:21:51
Candle lighting before 8:03
Sat Jun 13
Shelach L'cha
8:00
9:00
7:558:22:20
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 8:56
Mevarchim
Women's Tefillah Group 6:55
Havdalah after 9:05

Week of Parashat Korakh
Jun 14 - Jun 20
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jun 14 8:008:108:22:47
Mon Jun 15 6:308:108:23:12
Tue Jun 16 6:408:108:23:35
Wed Jun 17
Rosh Chodesh Tamuz
6:158:108:23:56
Thu Jun 18
Rosh Chodesh Tamuz
6:158:108:24:16
Fri Jun 19 6:407:008:24:33
Candle lighting before 8:06
Sat Jun 20
Korakh
8:00
9:00
7:558:24:49
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 8:57
Havdalah after 9:07

Week of Parashat Chukat
Jun 21 - Jun 27
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jun 21 8:008:108:25:02
Mon Jun 22 6:308:108:25:14
Tue Jun 23 6:408:108:25:23
Wed Jun 24 6:408:108:25:30
Thu Jun 25 6:308:108:25:35
Fri Jun 26 6:407:008:25:38
Candle lighting before 8:07
Sat Jun 27
Chukat
8:00
9:00
7:558:25:39
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 8:58
Havdalah after 9:08

Week of Parashat Balaq
Jun 28 - Jul 4
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jun 28 8:008:108:25:38
Mon Jun 29 6:308:108:25:35
Tue Jun 30 6:408:108:25:29
Wed Jul 1 6:408:108:25:22
Thu Jul 2 6:308:108:25:12
Fri Jul 3 8:007:008:25:00
Candle lighting before 8:06
Sat Jul 4
Balaq
8:00
9:00
7:558:24:46
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:01
Havdalah after 9:07

Week of Parashat Pinchas
Jul 5 - Jul 11
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jul 5
Fast of Tammuz
8:008:008:24:30
Mon Jul 6 6:308:108:24:11
Tue Jul 7 6:408:108:23:51
Wed Jul 8 6:408:108:23:28
Thu Jul 9 6:308:108:23:03
Fri Jul 10 6:407:008:22:37
Candle lighting before 8:04
Sat Jul 11
Pinchas
8:00
9:00
7:558:22:08
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:04
Mevarchim
Women's Tefillah Group 6:55
Havdalah after 9:05

Week of Parashat Matot/Masaai
Jul 12 - Jul 18
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jul 12 8:008:058:21:37
Mon Jul 13 6:308:058:21:04
Tue Jul 14 6:408:058:20:29
Wed Jul 15 6:408:058:19:51
Thu Jul 16 6:308:058:19:12
Fri Jul 17
Rosh Chodesh Av
6:157:008:18:31
Candle lighting before 8:00
Sat Jul 18
Matot/Masaai
8:00
9:00
7:508:17:48
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:07
Havdalah after 9:00

Week of Parashat Devarim
Jul 19 - Jul 25
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jul 19 8:008:008:17:03
Mon Jul 20 6:308:008:16:16
Tue Jul 21 6:408:008:15:27
Wed Jul 22 6:408:008:14:36
Thu Jul 23 6:308:008:13:44
Fri Jul 24 6:407:008:12:49
Candle lighting before 7:54
Sat Jul 25
Devarim
8:00
9:00
7:458:11:53
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:10
Havdalah after 8:54

Week of Parashat Va'etchanan
Jul 26 - Aug 1
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Jul 26
Fast of Av
8:007:458:10:54
Mon Jul 27 6:307:558:09:55
Tue Jul 28 6:407:558:08:53
Wed Jul 29 6:407:558:07:50
Thu Jul 30 6:307:558:06:45
Fri Jul 31 6:407:008:05:38
Candle lighting before 7:47
Sat Aug 1
Va'etchanan
8:00
9:00
7:358:04:30
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:13
Havdalah after 8:47

Week of Parashat Eqev
Aug 2 - Aug 8
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Aug 2 8:007:458:03:20
Mon Aug 3 6:307:458:02:09
Tue Aug 4 6:407:458:00:56
Wed Aug 5 6:407:457:59:42
Thu Aug 6 6:307:457:58:27
Fri Aug 7 6:407:007:57:10
Candle lighting before 7:39
Sat Aug 8
Eqev
Mevarchim
8:00
9:00
7:257:55:51
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:17
Women's Tefillah Group 6:25
Havdalah after 8:38

Week of Parashat Re'eh
Rosh Chodesh Elul
Aug 9 - Aug 15
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Aug 9 8:007:357:54:32
Mon Aug 10 6:307:357:53:11
Tue Aug 11 6:407:357:51:49
Wed Aug 12 6:407:357:50:26
Thu Aug 13 6:307:357:49:01
Fri Aug 14 6:407:007:47:35
Candle lighting before 7:29
Sat Aug 15
Re'eh
Rosh Chodesh Elul
8:00
9:00
7:207:46:09
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:20
Havdalah after 8:29

Week of Parashat Shoftim
Aug 16 - Aug 22
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Aug 16
Rosh Chodesh Elul
8:007:257:44:41
Mon Aug 17 6:307:257:43:12
Tue Aug 18 6:407:257:41:42
Wed Aug 19 6:407:257:40:11
Thu Aug 20 6:307:257:38:39
Fri Aug 21 6:407:007:37:06
Candle lighting before 7:19
Sat Aug 22
Shoftim
8:00
9:00
7:057:35:32
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:23
Havdalah after 8:18

Week of Parashat Ki Tetze
Aug 23 - Aug 29
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Aug 23 8:007:157:33:58
Mon Aug 24 6:307:157:32:22
Tue Aug 25 6:407:157:30:46
Wed Aug 26 6:407:157:29:09
Thu Aug 27 6:307:157:27:31
Fri Aug 28 6:407:007:25:52
Candle lighting before 7:07
Sat Aug 29
Ki Tetze
8:00
9:00
6:557:24:13
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:25
Havdalah after 8:07

Week of Parashat Ki Tavo
Aug 30 - Sept 5
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
Shkia
Sun Aug 30 8:007:057:22:33
Mon Aug 31 6:307:057:20:53
Tue Sept 1 6:407:057:19:12
Wed Sept 2 6:407:057:17:30
Thu Sept 3 6:307:057:15:48
Fri Sept 4 6:406:557:14:06
Candle lighting before 6:56
Sat Sept 5
Ki Tavo
8:00
9:00
6:457:12:23
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:28
Havdalah after 7:55
Selichot at Midnight

Week of Parashat Nitzavim
Sept 6 - Sept 11
Date ShacharitMincha/
Maariv
LateShkia
Sun Sept 6 8:006:509:007:10:39
Mon Sept 7
Labor Day
8:006:509:007:08:55
Tue Sept 8 6:406:509:007:07:11
Wed Sept 9 6:406:509:007:05:27
Thu Sept 10 6:306:509:007:03:42
Fri Sept 11 6:406:45 7:01:57
Candle lighting before 6:43
Sat Sept 12
Nitzavim
8:00
9:00
6:30 7:00:12
Sof Zman Kriyat Shma 9:31
Havdalah after 7:43